Usui Shiki Ryoho Reiki (The Usui System of Reiki)

N0Usui Shiki Ryoho, or the Usui system of Reiki, is the traditional form of Reiki that is taught and practised honouring the direct spiritual lineage of Mikao Usui, Chujiro Hayashi, Hawayo Takata, and Phyllis Lei Furumoto.

This natural healing modality originates in Tibet. The name “Reiki” (rey-key) comes from the technique as re-discovered by Dr. Mikao Usui, a Japanese Buddhist in the early 20th century.

This is the form of Reiki that is practised globally by the members of Reiki Alliance and some independent masters. Usui Shiki Ryoho represents many years of direct experience, apprenticeship and learning, and a lifelong commitment with our initiating master.

In her early diary, Hawayo Takata, the woman who brought Usui Shiki Ryoho or the Usui System of Reiki (or Natural) Healing out of Japan, stated, “This power (Reiki) is unfathomable, immeasurable, and being a universal life force, it is incomprehensible to man. Yet, every single living being is receiving its blessings daily, awake and asleep.”

For Usui Shiki Ryoho Masters, Reiki is a way of life and the beauty of this form lies in its simplicity.

The Usui System of Natural Healing teaches us also the “Secret Art” of  Inviting Happiness” into one’s life which can be achieved by working with the Five Reiki Ideals and the Three Degrees of Attunements. The Five Reiki Ideals help us realize that improving oneself is an essential part of Reiki healing.

The Reiki Precepts:

 Just for today do not worry,

Just for today do not anger,

Honour your parents, teachers and elders,

Earn your living honestly,

Show gratitude to every living thing. 


Find more about Usui Shiki Ryoho Reiki.